Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge

Step back in time at Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge in the heart of Epping Forest, where exhibitions, activities and events bring the building to life. Free entry. Also available for school visits and licensed for weddings.

 

Key Facts Date Built - 1543Grade II*
Key Facts
Date Built - 1543
Grade II*

Facilities: Restaurant / Cafe

Built on the orders of Henry VIII in 1543, Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge is a unique surviving timber-framed hunt standing surrounded by its medieval hunting forest.

Enjoy exhibitions and activities, try on some Tudor costume and soak up the atmosphere of this incredible historic building nearly 500 years after it was built. With regular events throughout the year, over 6000 acres of forest to explore from the doorstep and The View, the visitor centre for Epping Forest, next door, there’s plenty to see and do.

Managed by the City of London, the Hunting Lodge is open seven days a week from 10am to 5pm (closed Christmas Day). Pre-booked guided tours available.

For more information, visit the website.

 

Location and Access

Nestled in the heart of Epping Forest, Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge is a five to ten minute walk from Chingford Station, next to The View visitor centre.

Access by car

Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge is located on Rangers Road, Chingford, E4 7QH.

There are car parks opposite the Hunting Lodge at Barn Hoppitt and nearby at Bury Road and Connaught Water. There are two disabled parking spaces in the area in front of The View next door.

Access by public transport

Queen Elizabeth’s Hunting Lodge is a five to ten minute walk from Chingford Station, which is served by local buses and the London Overground from Liverpool Street Station.

Turn right out of the station on to Rangers Road and walk up the hill towards The Royal Forest pub. The Hunting Lodge and The View are just past the pub.

Disabled access

Blue badge holder parking available. The ground floor is fully accessible with shallow wooden stairs leading to the upper two floors. Interpretation and activities can be brought down to the ground floor if you are unable to climb the stairs. Fully accessible visitor centre next door, including accessible bathroom.