Havering Museum in Romford is open on Saturdays from 11am-5pm, why not pay a visit to learn about Upminster and other the towns in Havering before coming to the Old Chapel and the Windmill? The 248 and 370 buses go from Romford Station and stop at Upminster Windmill. There is also a train service between Romford and Upminster that operates every half an hour on Saturdays.
The Old Chapel was built in 1800 by local Protestant Dissenters. It retains the original gallery from 1800, a pulpit designed by a congregation member in 1873 and a full immersion Baptistry Pool. As well as learning about the history of the building, there are regular event days at the Old Chapel. You can combine a visit to Upminster Windmill opposite. The Windmill was built in 1803 by James Noakes, who also funded the building of the Old Chapel. The millers of the Windmilll worshipped at the Old Chapel throughout Victorian times, linking the history of the two buildings. The Mill has much of its original machinery and offers free tours to learn about how it works.
The Old Chapel is open on the first and third Sunday of the month, April–October from 2pm-5pm. The Windmill is currently closed for restoration; a new Visitor Centre will be open in 2017.